Free Patriotic Quilt Pattern

 

Image

About two years ago I posted on my Facebook page that I would be offering the pattern to this quilt on my Etsy shop.  Once I sat down and tried to make a real pattern for this chicken scratch pattern I was working with:

Imagelt

 

I decided not to bother. Yesterday, I totally got caught!!! Someone saw the quilt on my Facebook page with the long forgotten promise of a pattern and asked for proof of it’s existence. Oops! I never want to shirk on a promise, so here is what I came up with. It is rough to say the least. A math whiz I am not, so I honestly have to admit that I haven’t figured out exactly how much fabric you will need. When I made this quilt for a client, I was working mostly with scraps she had sent me and with odds and ends of fabric I had or picked up.  

Materials:

Quilt measures 90″x90″ (queen size)

All cuts are 3″ strips

Red and blue strips:

20-19.5″

16-7.5″, 11.5″, and 15.5″

10-3.5″

White strips:

24-8.5″ and 12.5″

12-16.5″

40-4.5″

16-6.5″ and 2.5″

8-8.75″

Here is a very rough pattern. When I made this up, I didn’t leave room for the extra row of strips, so just be sure to add one extra group on the end (as you can see in my original sketch). I repeated this pattern so I had three complete sets of blue and red, and two halves on the ends. 

Image

I really hope this all makes sense!! I was in a rush today, so I may try to make it a little clearer later. Please leave comments if you don’t understand my mad thoughts! 

ImageImageImage

46 thoughts on “Free Patriotic Quilt Pattern

    • Hey I finally made the quilt I really love it if I don’t want to stitch in the ditch what other quilt pattern would look good

      • Yay! I’d love to see it! I’m a huge fan of free motion quilting bc it’s quick, but looks really nice as well. If you wanted to get a bit fancier, you could do a star or swirl quilt pattern that I think could look really nice.

  1. Iam cutting strips and getting read to make the quilt, but I do have question. Did you sew the first row east to west, and sew the second the same way. And then sew the first and second row together?

    • Hey Mary! So glad to hear my pattern is getting some use! Yes-I sewed the rows horizontally first, then attached them together vertically. Hope that helps! Please send me pictures of the completed quilt when you are done! I would love to see it 🙂

  2. Hello! I was just wondering how you decided which fabric to cut which size strips from? Or did you just choose randomly? I’m making this quilt this weekend! 🙂

    • Hi! This was actually a custom quilt I did for one of my clients via my Etsy shop. ( http://www.howdear.etsy.com ) and she showed me a picture of a quilt she liked and I had to create the pattern from there. She wanted it to be patriotic and sent me some fabrics that she already had. From there, I just supplemented fabrics that I thought would match well. As far as deciding which fabrics to cut for what, I think I just decided as I went. That is usually how I do things! I just cut long strips of each fabric, then decided as I went which fabric I wanted to use next and would cut it accordingly. I know that doesn’t sound too scientific! 🙂 I would love to see your quilt when you are done!

      • What color thread did you use to do the stitch in the ditch?
        Thank you. I also saw a comment about adding an inch to the strips. I was confused about that as well.

      • I am making the quilt and cut it down to twin size. I had to work on the strip sizes as I went along, but I finished piecing it and love it! Thanks for the idea!

  3. I SAW THIS PATTERN LAST SUMMER AND FELL IN LOVE WITH IT! I FINALLY GOT THE FABRICS TOGETHER AND MADE THE QUILT THIS MONTH…ALL L CAN SAY IS AMAZING! I DID MAKE SOME ALTERATION. WAS TRYING TO FIGURE OUT HOW THE QUILT BECAME A 90 X 90….ALL THE BLUE AND RED STRIPS I ADDED 1 INCH TO AND THE NUMBERS CAME OUT CLOSER AFTER PUTTING BORDERS…LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS QUILT. WILL SEND MY VERSION SOON AFTER I TAKE A PICTURE!

    • I’m so glad you like it and it turned out well for you! I’m sorry the measurements were a little off. I made this so long ago, I am sure I had to make alterations to it, too. Glad you got it worked out! Please, please do send pictures of it! I can even feature it in my blog 🙂

    • Dawn, I am getting ready to start my quilt but question. If you added 1 inch to the red and blue didn’t you have to add an inch to the white also?

    • Hi there, I am just now beginning this quilt. I see your note about adding an inch to the strips. I am completely confused. I have the longest strips cut already. I am wondering if you had a pattern or something I could follow? IF I dont add the inch, will I just get a more narrow quilt with the right “look”. I don’t really care about it being 90 x90 but I do want the diamond pattern to look uniform throughout. Any advice would be appreciated 🙂
      My email is copicpho@yahoo.com

      • As far as adding the one inch, I’m not sure. My guess is the person who commented that meant to the width? I made this quilt so very long ago that I can’t remember it exactly. I quilt like I cook- I make it up as I go! That’s probably not very helpful. But again,I think she meant the width. Hope that helps!

  4. I am a little confused. When they said they added a inch to the red and blue did that mean in length or width? I am also assuming that they had to add it to the white also. Thanks again for your help!

  5. Sorry about the confusion! That is suposed to say 8-8.5 strips for the outer edges, but since you already have 8.5 strips, it makes 32 total. Hope that makes sense! I think I made this quilt five years ago and really just learned as I went, so I hope it turns out well!! 🙂

  6. I’ve seen a picture of this quilt on a number of pinterest pages and I have finally tracked it back to here – yaah! I’d just like to say thanks for the pattern and that I’m sure to give it a try in the new year as I think it’s a beautiful quilt.

  7. Hi! I just attended a Quilt Retreat with the”Electric City Quilters” from Abbeyville SC. They are very devoted quilters particularly with the Quilts Of Valor. This looks like a perfect pattern to pass on to them. It is very nice and looks like anyone should be able to do one. I am going to make one, but please note, not every quilt of valor, need be in typical “Patriotic” colors. Some Vets particularly the ladies request other colors. I think this quilt is clever and could be wonderful in an other color pattern too. Thank you so much for generously sharing the pattern. I am going to pass it on as well.
    Pat

  8. Heyyyyy!! I love your pattern!! Thank you so much for sharing 🙂 Perfect for all the jelly rolls and homeybuns ive collected over the years. Love it!! Amie 🙂

  9. I have started making this quilt. finally and it is turning out really nice. Thanks for sharing this quilt as i just love it and i will enjoy the finished project,

  10. I love this quilt!! thanks for providing it and the diagram. I am attempting this quilt as my comeback quilt as I haven’t made any in 25 years! I am going to attempt to make it with jelly rolls so I will need to adapt the amount somewhat. I am going to make it in a twin size…..ssssoooo wish me luck and thanks again!

  11. Hey Courtney, I love love love this quilt! I am almost finished collecting my fabrics for this quilt and I have a couple projects ahead that have to be done. When it is completed I will send photos. Have you made another quilt with this pattern? Has anyone one sent in photos? I would love to see photos of some of the other quilts if you have some photos. This is one of my favorite Patterns of Quilts ever.

    • I’m so glad you like it! I have not used this pattern again myself and no one has sent a photo in, yet. I’m so anxious to see one!! This pattern was a favorite of mine, too. I’d LOVE to see your finished product!

  12. I made a cream, grey, and brown quilt using your pattern for my spare bedroom. It turned out great. I found your instructions easy to follow and things went quickly once I got into the swing of the layout. I added a 6″ border around the end as I like my quilts to drape. It lays on a queen sized bed. Thank you!

  13. I am making this for my son. I was wondering about the quilting part. Did you quilt as you go or did you put it all together than quilt it?

    • I put it together and then quilted it the traditional way. You could possibly quilt as you go… Not sure how with this pattern, but maybe you could figure it out! 😊 Let me know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

