Purging Kids Clothes

5.png

And we’re back!!

It’s been a craaaaaaaaazy eight months since I last posted anything. We went on and were in charge of a missions trip to Mexico, have been doing all kinds of home renovations, and I started homeschooling.  I’ve collected all kinds pictures of crafts and home improvements that we’ve done with all kinds of good intentions of posting them. But, alas, it was not meant to be!

One of my New Year’s resolutions is to try to do better! Ha! We shall see!

One of my other resolutions is to get the heck rid of things in my house (I’m so determined I let my grammar just go out the window!)! This year we are preparing to move to a smaller home in the country that has no basement or attic- translation: no room for extra junk! Today I’m strapping on my superhero cleaning cape and accepting the challenge! I’m ready to purge, baby!

My first challenge is our girls’ room. Here is a horrific sight if I ever saw one. (If you’re faint of heart, just look away!) I had the girls take everything out of their dressers and the floor was littered with clothing carnage! I JUST cleaned their drawers out five months ago!! What happened?!

2

 

Anyway, something had to be done.

My husband and I have been trying (you know, sort of) to teach the girls the value of saving, giving, and spending money. Since they don’t really get an allowance of any kind, this has been no easy task. We’ve been debating about whether we pay them for chores or teach them that we all help out around the house because that’s what being part of a family means. But that’s a subject for another day.

So I came up with this plan and, I won’t lie to you, I’m pretty darn proud of it. I told the girls we were going to have a yard sale! I would pay them anywhere from 1-5 cents per item they were willing to get rid of, whether it was clothes or toys.

I gave them a list of things they could keep: six long sleeved shirts, 5 short sleeved, 5 pairs of pants, etc. The rest they sold to me to take to the Goodwill store.

They started off by making piles of the different types of clothes: jeans, stretchy pants, summer clothes, sweaters, etc. Then we went through each pile and they took out their designated number of items they wanted to keep. If there were a few things that went over the limit and I felt we had room for it, I would allow them to keep an extra item or two in each category. 1.png

After we picked things out we loaded up garbage bags, some for Goodwill, some to give away for hand-me-downs.

Once we were done, we celebrated with a good-old-fashioned tea party for a job well done.

tea

I’d love to hear your best organizational tips! I need all the help I can get!

with love,

Courtney xoxo

 

Leave a Reply

