Diy Doily Wall

IMG_20150110_112917

I have seen and searched all over Pinterest for tutorials on how to do your own doily wall.I love the crisp, delicate, vintage look of these walls; super chic, charming and lovely. But, when researched further, I found that the stencils for these are $30+, then with paint (a layer of white, then color of choice over top) a project like this can set you back $75+and hours of tedious labor. There are few things in this life I dread more than spending more money than necessary and painting walls! So, disappointed, I concluded this project wasn’t for me. There had to be a better way!

I’m happy to say this cost me $3 total and an hour’s worth of labor!!! 

 Supply list:

Doilies (I found two sizes-larger ones at the dollar tree with 32 in a package and smaller ones at Joann fabrics for $2.50 half off, 20/package)

Bottle of white glue

Water

Foam brush

I mixed a little water with the file to make a decoupage paste. This isn’t an exact science. In fact it’s pretty forgiving. Add enough water so that it’s a thick liquid. Paint the paste onto the back of the doily and stick it to the wall. Paint another layer on top once it’s adhered to the wall. That’s pretty much it!I didn’t use any particular placement design. I just put them where I thought they would look best.

Let me know what you think!

IMG_20150110_110207 IMG_20150110_105844IMG_20150109_150930846_HDR IMG_20150110_110001

Leave a Reply

