Pillow Face Lift in Ten Minutes

Image

The night before we closed on our house nearly a year ago now, I laid in bed panicked that maybe we had been too hasty. Was the house right for us? It had everything I wanted-three bedrooms, an office for me, a playroom for the kids, tons of storage space, pocket doors, tin ceilings, a huge wrap-around porch, a nice yard, a big kitchen, a clawfoot tub, an ornate fireplace with built in mirror and pillars, chandeliers, two baths, a large formal dining room-yeah, it was pretty much perfect for me. But as I laid in bed, all I could think about was how dark everything was. It was a foreclosure turned flip by a contracting company and they had stayed very true to the Victorian style of the home. They finished the floors in a very dark stain to match the original woodwork throughout the home. Since I feel like it’s practically blasphemous to paint over the original wood and stripping it all down is not even an option, I am stuck with a very dark atmosphere sometimes. Do I have buyers remorse? Not on your life. Our house is so charming and perfect for us and so true to my style, but  on dark and dreary days like today, I am ready for a little sunshine! 

So, with all the preamble, I present to you my face-lifted pillows. My friend made me covers for these pillows a few years ago and I was in love with them at our other home. However, in the last few years, with two kids, three pets, and many dinners on the couch, they have taken a beating. They are dingy, worn and riddled with holes not to mention a little drab. So, on this dismal day, I thought I would bring a little sunshine in with bright, bold, and fun fabrics.  These pillow cases are soooooo ridiculously easy that I made six-count ’em-SIX in less than an hour. No Joke. 

Since my pillows are all different sizes and yours will be as well, it’s hard to give you real measurements for how much fabric you will need. I’m sorry to say you will have to do that yourself. I started out by choosing fabrics I thought would be eclectically charming and sunny together and went to work. First, I laid out my fabric on the floor and put the pillow on top, cutting it width wise just enough so that when folded together over the pillow, the edges were just touching. When making a case, you want it to fit a little snugly so that the pillow doesn’t lose it’s poofiness if it gets lost in the case.

Image

I cut it just long enough so that it could be folded over the pillow on each side like you were wrapping a present with about three inches overlap. Then I hemmed the ends.

Image

After hemming the short ends, I folded it, wrong side out, over top of the pillow and pinned just the top layer where the fabrics overlapped one another. Then I removed the pillow (and the dog who loves to plop himself in the middle of any project I’m working on), pinned the sides together and sewed from one end to the other. In the end, it’s sort of a little pillow pocket. Once sewn, just turn inside out and stuff with pillow! Easy, right??

Here is the final product:

Image

I was on such a roll, I made some for the girls’ beds, too, since I don’t even want to show you a before and after picture of what their pillows looked like. It would make you squeamish. But, here is the end result:

Image 

I’m thinking of offering custom covers in my Etsy shop. What do you think??

2 thoughts on “Pillow Face Lift in Ten Minutes

  1. I was the same as you the night before we moved. Perfect house but it needed so much work and love. A year in and I long to start decorating, but we’re waiting until the big jobs like the double glazing and the floors are done and then I intend to go soft furnishings crazy!

Leave a Reply

