Chocolate Turtles

Image

This was going to be on my “Christmas Craft/Recipes” list if I wasn’t shlacking so much! Anyway, it does earn the right to be on my Christmas Craft/Recipe list because I only make this once a year. For starters it is DE-LISH!! I could eat all of it in one sitting. It also makes superb Christmas gifts! This recipe made about 40 turtles and then I also had enough caramel left over to fill a 9×11 pan 1/2 thick. I would love to take credit for this recipe myself, but alas, I cannot. I must give credit where credit is due. When I got married, my mom gave me a recipe book from a flea market she picked up with all kind of old-fashioned, honest to goodness down home recipes. It has been my favorite and most well-loved book by far. So, here it is:

For the caramel:

2 cp sugar

2cp light corn syrup

2 sticks butter or margarine (NOT OIL SPREAD)

1 can sweetened condensed milk

Cook sugar, syrup and butter in heavy saucepan over medium heat to a full rolling boil. Slowly add condensed milk, stirring constantly until it reaches 242 degrees F.

Lightly grease cookie sheet and cover with pecans. Drop caramel by spoonfuls over nuts while still warm. Let stand until set. Melt chocolate chips or wafers in double boiler (or if you are like me I learned from my mom to use a small sauce pan and boil water in it with a metal bowl on top and melt the chocolate on there). Dip caramels in the chocolate and let set until firm.

Lastly, enjoy and try to share them! Wrap and give away with love. ❤

Leave a Reply

