24 Days of Christmas Crafts Day 9: DIY Shrinky Dink Necklaces

Image

Like I am EVERY year, no matter when I start my Christmas projects, am waaaaaaaay behind! I am behind on this blog, too. Anyway, here is another project that I made for the girls. If you have any little girls on your list and they are anything like mine I know for sure they like two things: 1) Anything with their name or face on it and 2) Anything that would constitute as dress-up. So this idea was spawned! 

I have always been fascinated by the idea of Shrinky Dinks. I mean, who came up with that?! I would like to shake that man’s hand. What a fun and brilliant idea! Anyway, I ordered mine off of Amazon for a pretty reasonable price. I was so excited to get them in the mail. The possibilities were endless! This was on fact my first endeavor with Shrinky Dinks. So, to make these necklaces here is what you will need:

Image

1. Shrinky Dink sheets

2.Scissors

3.Permanent markers

4.Beads and elastic for necklace

5.Small hole punch

I started by cutting out a square from the sheets about twice the size of what I wanted my final pendant to be. Then I drew out a very amateur face of each of my girls as princesses and put their names on it. When I was done with that, I punched a hole in the top middle for threading it onto my necklace after it baked.

Image

 

Then I followed the instructions on the package, popped ’em in the oven, and that was basically it!!! I threaded the pendants onto my jewelry elastic (I chose one that was gold and sparkly, of course, for extra girliness) in between my beads. Pretty basic! 

Here is the final product:

Image

One thought on “24 Days of Christmas Crafts Day 9: DIY Shrinky Dink Necklaces

Leave a Reply

