Day 6 and 7 of Christmas Crafts: DIY Children’s Book

Image

One day we asked Nora if she could be anything in the world, what she would want to be. Her answer, very prompt and very serious was, “A unicorn in a uniform.” Sam and I had a very hard time keeping a straight face. One day I told him I really wanted to draw and write. If you are an artist or a writer, you understand that itch you get sometimes to get the creative juices flowing (especially if you are the mom of small children as well). Even as I am trying to type out this blog I am being bombarded with questions and I have had to retype the first few sentences at least three times each and I’m still not sure if they make sense! 

Anywho…..my husband said that I should write books like “A Unicorn in a Uniform”, and from there we rolled out a bunch of other titles that rhymed. I have written three so far, but have only illustrated two; one for each of my girls for Christmas. I am going to show you some samples of “Dogs in Clogs”. 

***Disclaimer: not that anyone would want to steal this idea, I am still asking for the courtesy that you not steal this idea for a book of your own (referring, of course, to the titles and ideas of these particular stories).

I am making this a two parter because there is a lot of work that went into these books, but they were so much fun to do and such a great creative outlet! 

Step one: I wrote the stories. Edited, read them to my kids, re-edited them and when I was finally satisfied and happy that the girls enjoyed them, I got out some blank pieces of drawing paper and went to work. 

Step two: I scanned the completed pictures onto my computer and then used Picmonkey to add fonts and other details I wanted to add. Here are a few sample pictures.

ImageImageImage

 

Anyway, more to come about putting these books together later!! Have to dash! 

One thought on “Day 6 and 7 of Christmas Crafts: DIY Children’s Book

  1. Hi Courtney, I came across your blog and I like your ideas. I have made a hardcover book for my niece and it turned out great, you can check it out on my blog. I followed a similar concept to yours. 🙂

Leave a Reply

