DIY Easy Picture Frames

Image

This is one of those posts again that seem a little silly for me to even be giving a tutorial about because these are so ridiculously easy to make, but….well, here we are.

I was shopping for a friend for her wedding shower, and I had this big idea to put together this cute little package of goodies for her to decorate her home with. I started, of course, by stalking her on Pinterest to find out what her style was. Though this might seem a little creepy, it is incredibly effective when trying to pick out the perfect gift for someone.

Anyway, on my quest to finding such aforementioned items, I hunted for cute and affordable picture frames. This friend is super trendy. She always looks like she just stepped out of a magazine, so I wanted to find her something that would fit her style. I did. I found this adorable chevron picture frame that was classy, but still looked a little rough around the edges to give it that shabby chic charm. It was a 4×6 (perfect) and…what?!!! Fifteen dollars!! Have I mentioned before how cheap I am? I could have gotten her the picture frame, but I couldn’t afford to add much else to it. So instead, I grabbed two white frames, $5 each, one a 4×6, the other 8×11. I headed home, got out my Sharpies, only second to Duct Tape in their versatility, and went to work.  My husband so wisely looked at me and said, “You’re doing that freehand?” Yep, was my confident reply.  How hard is it to do a chevron pattern?? Well, apparently for someone like me working at 10 o’clock at night, it’s no small feat.  I hated the way it looked, which was completely uneven and I was sure she wouldn’t like it either. So, my original DIY list looked like this:

Image

then quickly changed to this:

Image

Instead of Sharpie, I decided to go with decoupaging instead. I had this darling paper called, “The Sweetest Thing” that I picked up from Micheal’s to wallpaper my girls’ room and thought it would be perfect for this project. So here’s what I used:

*2 white picture frames

*glue (for decoupage-so much cheaper than Mod Podge!)

*scrapbook paper

*foam brush

Okay, so I know this is probably pretty self explanatory, but this is how it was done: I started by taking the glass and backing off to be able to wrap the paper smoothly around the edges.  Then I cut strips of paper the length of each side and then some so it could wrap around the edges and be tucked around the side and glued to the back.  I cut diagonal slits in inside corners of the paper so they could be fold neatly around the inside edges. I started gluing my paper down, edge by edge, then I covered the whole thing with a layer of glue, then let it dry and did another layer. My first attempted side looked like this:

Image

And here are the final products. Pretty easy, right? All in all these took me about a half hour to make both of them. Not too bad!

Image

I think she liked ’em.

xo

Leave a Reply

