Personalized Plates

Image

Due to the fact that I already wrote this post and it erased it on me, I will make this brief. I made these for my nieces after these adorable plates I saw on Pinterest, but they are $25 apiece, so I decided to make my own version of them with plates from the Dollar Tree and oil-based Sharpies.

Image

Supplies:

1.Rubbing alcohol (to clean off surface of plate before you begin to ensure the paint bonds thoroughly)

2.Oil based permanent marker(available at any craft store)

3. Blank plate

As a lot of my tutorials are, this is pretty self-explanatory. I started out by sketching my design onto the plate and then filled it in with marker. It took me all of 20 minutes to do both plates.  I tried to match the hair/eyes to what my nieces’ look like as far as style and color and purposely did not color the hair in thoroughly to give it that “sketchy” look. I popped them in the oven at 350F for 30 minutes (put the plate in while the oven is heating up and remove it after it has cooled off to prevent cracking) and voila!

Image

Image

Image

Simple, cheap, cute. One Christmas present down.

Leave a Reply

