Patching Things Up

Image

I cannot count the number of times I have picked the girls up from preschool to find the knees of their jeans fully of holes that were not there when I dropped them off in the morning.  They are tough on their pants. I have seen them at recess crawling on their hands and knees across the parking lot (which is coned off during school hours) and I know they play hard as well in their classroom. At home they love to pretend to be dogs, cats, lions, babies, or any other living species that crawls on all fours.  With both of my girls being the exact same size, we go through pants even quicker.  Just look at them (and this isn’t even all of them!).

Image

Call me cheap or old-fashioned or both, but I was not about to spend fifteen dollars a pair on new jeans for them to put holes in them again within a week and would grow out of in six months. So this was my solution: fix them with cute heart patches that could easily be replaced if they needed to be. 

It is so simple to do and I think they turned out really cute! Here’s what you need:

*Holey jeans (CHECK!)

*Felt (about 30cents/piece at Walmart)

*Embroidery floss

*Fabric glue (optional)

*Cookie cutter for template 

This is so simple it’s a little ridiculous that I am doing a tutorial for it, because I’m pretty sure anyone could figure this out for themselves. But aren’t those projects the best? The ones with so little to think about and very few steps? It only took me about 15 min/patch. First, I used my heart-shaped cookie cutter to trace on my felt piece and cut out two.

Image

Again, I am more than sure you can make your own template but this is just what I did. Then, I used some fabric glue to glue each heart over the holes, but this is optional.

Image

It just helped keep them in place while I sewed them on using a blanket stitch.Image

Aaaand, that about covers it!

ImageSimple, quick and so CHEAP! Holla!

ImageImage

 

2 thoughts on “Patching Things Up

Leave a Reply

