Turning Photos into Paint by Numbers

ImagePaint by numbers seem to be all the rage these days. I see them in magazines next to Degas prints, as though they are a major work of art. To tell you the truth, I totally didn’t get it. Then, slowly but surely, the idea grew on me. I am quite sure it is one of those things in ten years from now where I will think, “Why in the world did I ever think that looked good?”, sort of like I do now about the dusty rose and powder blue geese wallpaper my mom put up in my childhood home (no offense, Mom!) :). Anyway, I love using picmonkey, a great online site for free photo editing (holla!!), and while I was editing some photos for my etsy shop, I came across a little tool called postersize and it has changed my world! It is as easy as 1, 2, 3!Image

1. Click on the “Open” button on the top, middle of the screen to upload a photo. I suggest trying a photo that is a little brighter, with lots of contrasting colors. However, if the one you want to use isn’t like that, play with the other editing features to make it a little brighter.

2. Click the second button down on the left hand side of the screen that looks like a beaker about to boil over. This is the “effects” button. 

3.Scroll about 3/4 of the way down the screen to the “posterize” button and click! Pretty simple. Play with the colors, detail, and fade buttons to get it just the way you want it, but it’s really as easy as that! Then you can turn this:

Imageinto this:

ImageI’m thinking these would be great to blow up to a larger size and put on a canvas. There is also a great “Warhol” button in Picmonkey that would be great to try this with, too. Happy editing! 

 

 

One thought on “Turning Photos into Paint by Numbers

  1. I got what you intend, appreciate it for posting .Woh I am lucky to find this website through google. I was walking down the street wearing glasses when the prescription ran out. by Steven Wright. gefeecddcdfk

Leave a Reply

