Snow Milkshakes

It is the middle of January and it has only snowed about three times this year, and I am already lamenting over it! When the snow comes, it always feels like it has never left. I have two little kids at home, and so often we all get a little cabin fever being cooped up inside. We like to play out in the snow, sometimes, when it is dark outside because the snow is so white it illuminates everything and our backyard looks almost as bright as daylight. We like to light a fire in the fireplace my husband and I built in the backyard last fall, and pull the kids around on the snow shovel since we have yet to invest in any actual sleds.

Last year a friend of mine told me this ingenious idea of making milkshakes out of the snow. When I was a kid, I used to love eating the snow, and of course I love milkshakes! He said his mom used to make them with him when he was little, so it is a tradition I wanted to start with my kids. Maybe some of you are thinking that this post is lame because this is a tradition you and your family have and maybe I am the last one to hear about it, but for those of you who might be like me, and this is new to you, I wanted to pass it along! It’s fun, easy, and most importantly, yummy, and something you can do with your kids!First, fill your cup up with fresh snow. Make sure it is filled to the top, especially if it is fluffier snow, because once you add the other ingredients it will quickly begin to melt.

Next add vanilla, or another flavoring you prefer. Peppermint would be yummy! You can also jazz it up with chocolate syrup if you want to make a chocolate milkshake.Next add sugar to taste. I usually put it 1-3 tsp. depending on how large my cup is. Make sure you take into account the sugar in other things you might add for flavoring, like chocolate syrup which already has sugar in it.Next, fill to top with milk. And then…Add a fun straw, and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

