Chicken Enchilada Lasagna

There were two meals that were my husband’s absolute favorites, and two meals I could never get right.  First of all, he loves lasagna.  When we were first married, I would try to surprise him with it, but we had little money, so I was be a little conservative with the ingredients. I didn’t add as much cheese or sauce as necessary. I was so proud of myself, I didn’t even really notice how dry it was…..until my husband finally had the guts to tell me, five years into our marriage. Talk about embarrassing. Then, of course, there were the chicken enchiladas that I mentioned in my ice cream cake post.  When I tried to improve upon the lasagna, even adding sausage (how can you go wrong with sausage?!) he would take a bite and say, “It’s good, it’s just that it’s not like they make at Olive Garden.” I love to create my own things, and hate following a recipe of any sort. I have since learned, though, since these few mishaps, to just follow the recipes he gives me and don’t ask any questions.  We are both much happier that way. However, I decided to try to combine the two. It seemed like an idea of pure genius!  This way, he could say that someone else’s recipe was not quite as good as mine:) I really like that idea. I made this last night, and he loved it! So, I thought I would pass it along to you! Hope you enjoy it, and I would love to hear feedback if you have tried it!

1 10.5oz can cream of mushroom soup

16 oz. sour cream

8oz package of shredded cheddar cheese

2 skinless chicken breasts, boiled and shredded

1 box lasagna noodles

Cook noodles according to package instructions, boiling to the taste and texture you prefer. I prefer them to have a little bite left and not too mushy. Lay them out in one layer on the bottom of a greased 9×13″  pan.  Mix cheese, chicken, sour cream, and soup in a large bowl, being sure to leave out just some cheese and soup to pour over the top of the lasagna.  Spread the mixture on top of the noodles.  Add another layer of noodles, and spread with remainder of the mixture.  Add a little milk to the remaining soup and cheddar and pour over top.  Cover with aluminum foil and bake at 375 for 35-40 minutes until it is heated through.  Let cool for a few minutes before cutting and dishing out. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Chicken Enchilada Lasagna

Leave a Reply

